Brett & Board  »  Games  »  FAQ's  »  Hera & Zeus

FAQ - Hera & Zeus 
 
FAQ answered by designer Richard Borg     Rev. 4/2002
 
Blitz und Donner / Hera and Zeus
© 2000 Kosmos / Rio Grande Games
Org. Design: Richard Borg
Development: TM-Spiele
 
"When Gods feud, the earth quakes!"
Mik

Please note that the FAQ is based upon the designer's own rules
which are slightly different from the two published versions.

Q: If Pegasus challenges the hand and draws Medusa, what happens? A: Medusa is lost and discarded.

Q: If Pegasus challenges from the hand a Medusa in the first row, what happens?A: Medusa is not lost. Medusa may only be defeated by a Hero or Amazon, once deployed to the playing field.

Q: If Pegasus challenges from the hand a Pandora in the first row, what happens? A: Pandora when challenged by Pegasus in this way, is discarded and all cards in that column are lost.

Q: Let's say I have three columns (no Hera or Zeus around), and therefore three actions. I make some rash action and lose a column. Do I still get three actions this turn or only two? A: On a player’s turn, he has as many action points to use as he has columns at the beginning of his turn.

Q: Can Pandora attack (challenge)? A: No. Io, Argus, Medusa, Pandora, and the Hera and Zeus figures may never initiate a challenge.

Q: The rules state no challenges on the first turns. What about using Pythia to look at your opponent’s hand? This isn't described as a challenge, but it could send the Nemesis/ Poseidon to the discard pile. A: The rules do state, no challenges on the first turn. Pythia looking at your opponent's hand is not a challenge and is legal.

Q: May Pegasus attack against your opponent's hand in the first turns? A: You may not challenge a hand with Pegasus on the first turns.

Q: May a player who has his Hera or Zeus deployed in a column use a Pegasus from his hand to challenge the first card in his opponent's column opposite his figure? A: Yes.

If so, if Pegasus challenges the first card and it is Pandora are all cards and his god figure in the column lost?
 
Yes.

Q: What happens if you reveal Pandora with Pythia? Does Pandora's box destroy the entire row? A: Using Pythia to turn over the opponent's cards does not cause any effect if Pandora, Io, Argus, Nemesis, or Poseidon are among the cards turned up.

Q: How do you remove a Hera or Zeus figure? A: One way to remove your opponent's Hera or Zeus figure is to challenge it with Pegasus it from your hand.
 A player may also remove his own Hera or Zeus figure for one action (English edition).
 The original concept was that a player could only remove his own Hera or Zeus by using a Pegasus from his own hand.

Q: It is my understanding that the Hera or Zeus figure can't move under any circumstances -- which means that no other cards can be played in front of them, right? A: Correct.

Q: In the rules, it says that after the Zeus or Hera figure has been removed, the figure remains on the player's side of the table as it may be used again. Since you can remove the figure for one action point, does this imply that you can put the figure back in play for one action point? I wouldn't think so, but I'm unsure. A: The figure can be replayed if the card is retrieved with the Hades card. This is the only way the figure might return.
 
Q: Is it permissible to remove the Hera or Zeus figure in the same turn it is placed? A: Yes.

Q: If the Hera or Zeus card is played and then removed in the same turn, do you get 3 or 4 actions? The difference of even one action used or not can make a difference in who wins in many of the games we've played. A: In the turn that Hera or Zeus is played, the player gets four action points. Also remember, deploying the Hera or Zeus card is not an action, and as you noted above you may use 1 action to remove Hera or Zeus figure so you still have three more action points.

Q: Can Pegasus challenge a card in a column behind a Hera or Zeus figure? A: A player may use Pegasus to challenge an opponent’s card or the Hera or Zeus figure only in the opponent’s 1st row.

Q: If Pegasus is played out of my hand to the card in the first row and it's a 0 or 1 is the card discarded without effect? A: When Pegasus is played out of hand to challenge a card in the first row, your Pegasus is discarded and do the following for the cards listed below:
 
  • When the card has a strength # 2-7, the card is turned face up.
  •  
  • When the card is a Pegasus (#1), the card is discarded.
  •  
  • When the card is Io or Argus (#0), you win the game.
  •  
  • When the card is a Medusa (#0) no effect, the Medusa remains. When Medusa is on the playing field the only cards that may challenge her and win are Hero or Amazon.
  •  
  • When the card is a Pythia (#0), the card is discarded.
  •  
  • When the card is Pandora (#0) the card is discarded and all cards in the column are lost and discarded.

  • Q: When I seduce an opponent’s card with Sirens and later it is lost where is it discarded?  A: Once you take a card from an opponent's discard pile, it becomes your card. If it is discarded later, it is placed on your discard pile.

    Q: If I have no cards on the board, I have no actions, but playing Hera or Zeus doesn't take an action. Can I play her/him from my hand in this situation? A: No. As soon as a player has no cards on the board, that player loses and the game is over.

    Q: Do you get a maximum of 4 action points in the turn you play the marker OR can you use your normal action points first, then play the marker for no action points and get a further 4, giving up to 7 action points in a turn? A: You get a maximum of 4 action points in the turn you play a Hera or Zeus card.

    Q: Let's say that my opponent has used Sirens to take my strength 7 card (Nemesis/Posseidon. What happends if I use Pythia and find both Nemesis and Posseidon in his hand. A: We never anticipated this. Both are defeated and the rule for Pythia should read: "Look at your opponent's hand and defeat Nemesis or Poseiden (or both) if she / he is (are) there."

     
     UP 

    © Mik Svellov 1997-2004editor@brettboard.dk8. jun 2002